Narwhal (nature’s unicorn)

I know I promised puppies or kittens, but I got to thinking…

I recently spent some time with my aunt. This aunt has traveled the world! All over! Possibly all the continents minus the super cold ones (which might be the problem)? She’ll correct me if I’m wrong. The amount of knowledge she has is amazing! Her attention to detail is impeccable! Which makes this story all the better! She recently bought my niece a unicorn. We were having a discussion with my 8 year old niece about it being a magical creature and how there are really no unicorns on Earth.

I know, worst news ever right? But then I thought, why, yes there is! It comes in the form of a blubbery whale! I couldn’t think of the name of it to save my life, so I looked over to my aunt and said “You know what I’m talking about, what’s the name of those?” She looked me dead in the eye and said she hadn’t a clue! She’d never heard of such a creature. Say huh, what? I then preceded to tell my niece (and aunt) that it’s a whale with a horn coming out of its head, just like a unicorn! Although it appears to be a horn, it’s actually a tusk. They use it when challenging other males during the mating season. It won’t grow back if it gets broken off but will repair itself if it’s chipped or partially broken.

What’s more awesome than a narwhal?!?! It’s a living legend that many people have no clue about! When I typed narwhal in Amazon’s search…20,313 products! Take a gander, ya know you wanna.

Anthropology has a sweet calendar with lots of
Found this sweet calendar in Anthropology. “Curious Creatures” by Caleb Luke Lin

WWF article on Narwhals is a quick read and you can see some incredible photos of these babies!

-p


2 thoughts on “Narwhal (nature’s unicorn)

Leave a comment